Ars poetica and my football philosophy 

Story

Firstly, my name is David, and I’m dealing with football for 10 years now. I’ve never was the most skillful player in the team, but I had vision and intelligence to read the flow of the game. And this was my only chance to get place in the starting eleven, so I had to be prepared for that moment when I possessed the ball.

Later on, when I realized I had no chance to maintain my game time I started to study the deep essence of it. What are the causes and consequences inside? Where can I find the roots of the motivations and the psychology behind? How can I manipulate the outcomes, the results? What are the most successful methods to prepare for the next match?

Finally I decided to take courses and absorb as much knowledge as I can. My long term plan is to be professional, and successful coach. In short term  (in one year) I would like to work for a local team as a scout or assistant to live between the walls of the beautiful game.

My philosophy

General

My approach is to train players who are intelligent, having self-confidence. To be able to dictate the tempo with precise passes, and maintain the flow of the game with good positioning.

“Every trainer talks about movement, about running a lot. I say don’t run so much. Football is a game you play with your brain. You have to be in the right place at the right moment, not too early, not too late.”

/Johann Cruyff/

Football is played in the players’ brain, so a good team contains at least eleven smart man, smart enough to understand the situation,  and the opposition’s tactical design. So they can exploit these advantages and win the match.

Decisions

Football is about decisions made. When you are playing, you have to face different situations, depending on the opponent, the weather, the position of the ball or your teammates.

Because it’s now accepted that players will spend less than two minutes per game, in possession of the ball, the most employed skill will indeed be that of ‘Decision Making’; figuring out how to exploit space, for optimum advantage, in real time.  In truth,football is a game of ‘Decision Making’ in space and time.
/Tony Mckenna & Lee Mooney/

Every situation has got its own characteristics,  and you have to be prepared and make useful and successful actions. This means every player on the pitch make decisions, hundreds of-to be accurate, and if you want to win, you have to make much more good decision than the other team.

Football can be devided into small pieces of information, the task of the team to understand the context and make an action. This process is the core element of the game.

Information processing -> Understand the context ->Making an action

Positioning

If you want your team produce  good chances in front of the goal, the easiest way to get this to be in good position, exploiting half-spaces, and achieving quantitative superiority in the most important places. I think the second most influential attribute in football is the skill of positioning. You need to be aware of the situation when you have the chance, but you have to exploit the moment with good vision and good positioning.

Finally I would like to say thank you,  if you decided to take this journey with me and reading this article now. I will post analyses, theories, useful threads, I will try to interpret trends in the modern football. On the other hand I will post about my individual route, my first experiences and my development.

Thanks again for your patience, and if you have got anything to share with me, feel free to write a pm or leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

